Junior WRC

The Junior WRC is the place to find the rally stars of the future.


Open to drivers aged 28 or under, it represents a cost effective route onto the stages of the World Rally Championship. Previous winners include Sébastien Loeb (2001) Dani Sordo (2005), Sébastien Ogier (2008) and Martin Prokop (2009).

For 2014 all competitors will drive 1600cc, two-wheel drive Citroen DS3 R3 cars instead of the Ford Fiesta R2 cars used in recent seasons, and will also be entered into the WRC 3 championship. The JWRC champion will earn the chance to compete in six rounds of the 2015 WRC2 in a Citroën DS3 R5.

The championship begins its six-round calendar at Rally de Portugal, and follows with the events in Poland, Finland, Germany, France and GB.

In addition to the Drivers’ and Co-drivers’ title, a Nations Trophy is awarded at the end of the season.  

Getting technical:

  • All JWRC competitors will drive Citroen DS3 R3 cars
  • Cars are front-wheel drive and have a 1.6 litre engine that develops just over 200bhp
  • The gearbox is a six-speed sequential, electronically controlled with steering wheel-mounted paddle
  • Including drivers, the cars must weigh a minimum of 1230kg


01 Apr 2014



Social media